Does Active Scanner Even Work?

So I guess the idea of the Active Scanner is to scan the system when it's not in use. Cool idea, but I have to wonder if it's even doing its job. I noticed my computer acting a bit strange and when I opened bit defender, the definitions are out of date, active scanner was off, and that usually indicates an issue. I managed to update my definitions, reboot the PC and run a scan. It found a trojan hanging out in my media server directory (media server is WAN accessible).

It's a bit troubling to see this happen, if active scan was doing its job I think I would have seen a popup before it managed to take down your antivirus software. This is also a good argument to use to get the scheduler re-implemented. Seriously, WHY would you take that option away from users?

I have lost faith in your antivirus doing a decent job, I have 324 days left on this license so I'm relatively new to the product, but I feel I already need to be searching for an alternative. Very disappointing considering your software did get decent reviews from several sites.

Comments

• So I guess the idea of the Active Scanner is to scan the system when it's not in use. Cool idea, but I have to wonder if it's even doing its job. I noticed my computer acting a bit strange and when I opened bit defender, the definitions are out of date, active scanner was off, and that usually indicates an issue. I managed to update my definitions, reboot the PC and run a scan. It found a trojan hanging out in my media server directory (media server is WAN accessible).

It's a bit troubling to see this happen, if active scan was doing its job I think I would have seen a popup before it managed to take down your antivirus software. This is also a good argument to use to get the scheduler re-implemented. Seriously, WHY would you take that option away from users?