Is BitDefender GravityZone Endpoint Protection usable by software developers?

InvaderZim
edited January 2022 in Enterprise Security

I am a software developer (Windows c/c++/c#) and have BitDefender GravityZone Endpoint protection, the BitDefender business solution on my home network. It's been nothing but trouble for development on my dev machine (works fine on my server, which is one reason I chose it). I purchased it to replace Symantec Endpoint Protection after that product was taken over by Broadcom. SEP never gave me any trouble.

There are three files in my build that are deleted by "on access scanning" as soon as they are produced by the linker with this logged error:

\tools\Debug\what.exe is malware of type Gen:Variant.Fugrafa.92832

There is something in the debug builds that it dislikes, as the release builds are not flagged and deleted.

But what's worse is that BitDefender then locks my registry so I can't register the COM components that I build: OLEAUT32.DLL returns "access denied" while trying to register a type library even while running elevated. I have to reboot and then the registration works fine.

BitDefender only seems to dislike DEBUG builds -- builds with symbol tables -- and not every file, just three particular ones along with a particular C# program.

I tried excluding my development directories in the Gravity Zone control panel and that seems to have no effect. It's not clear it covers only the selected directory or that directory and all subdirectories. It does look like excluding detection of this particular "malware" works but I don't know yet if it fixes the registry access problem. I haven't yet rebooted to find out but will shortly.

I have no idea why BitDefender GravityZone Endpoint protection doesn't have an "off switch" that I can enable on the client -- like, designate my development machine as a trusted client that is end-user configurable, or allow me to configure specific files or extensions as being ignored.