Brightness of PC Changing Regularly

I am writing this post to provide my feedback for the Bitdefender Antivirus. I have an active subscription of Bitdefender Total Security and have been using it for around a month. The brightness of my laptop (Lenovo Ideapad 300) had been changing often and it was very inconvenient for my eyes. Initially, I thought that one of my display drivers must be malfunctioning and the next few days went into upgrading, downgrading, installing and uninstalling my display drivers. But the problem was not resolved. Later, I figured out that the "Profiles" feature in Bitdefender was responsible for the change in brightness and was causing the problem. I disabled that feature and everything became alright.

In my opinion, changing brightness using "Profiles" feature is not a good idea as it seems quite inconvenient for the user (at least for me). And if still the brightness needs to be changed, I think it would be a good idea to inform the user somewhere that "Profiles" would change the screen brightness as it seems counter-intuitive for a general user that his/her antivirus may be responsible for that. This may cause inconvenience for many users.

Comments

• Hello @Saksham,

Thank you for reaching out.

Could you please tell us, what profile were you using? Which feature was disabled? For example, the Battery Mode profile is specially designed for laptop and tablet users and its purpose is to minimize both system and Bitdefender’s impact on power consumption when the battery charge level is lower than the default one or the one you select.

Bitdefender automatically switches to Battery Mode when the battery charge level drops below 30%. Likewise, Bitdefender automatically exits Battery Mode when it detects that the laptop is no longer running on a low battery. The following product settings are applied by default when Bitdefender operates in the Battery Mode profile:

• Bitdefender Automatic Update is postponed.