Bitdefender Sevices Not Responding In Safe Mode

Hey there, I'm new to this but could really use some help if it's not too much trouble.

I recently bought the latest versin of BD internet security. after scanning i am left with Trojan.Generic.709334 which cannot be removed, quarantined, fixed etc. (no action possible).

So, I figured I would try a scan in safe mode. Once I get into safe mode I click on BD and low and behold I get a BD window saying "BitDefender services are not responding". Then when I boot normally BD works fine. Might this have something to do with not being connected to my network whilst in safe mode? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, thanks

Comments

• That is because Safe Mode loads only the most important services needed for your operating system to function hence, Bitdefender (or any other antivirus program for that sake) does not work in Safe Mode if it depends on a service.

What the Trojan goes, have you tried disabling System Restore? Trojans and other malware like to save a copy of themself there so if a antivirus program removes the Trojan it will simply reinstall itself from System Restore. System Restore is locked by your operating system so no antivirus program is able to remove the Trojan from there. Disabling System Restore deletes all System Restore files and thereby also the Trojan hiding there. Disabling System Restore leaves you with no System Restore Points so if you enable System Restore again (after making sure the Trojan is gone) make sure to manually create a Restore Point.

Now you could try using a System Restore Point from before your computer got infected by the Trojan. The down side of this is any program installed between the creation date of the Restore Point you use and now will stop working and have to be reinstalled.