Windows Smartscreen

Hi

I have been having an issue with Bitdefender internet security 2013 and Windows Smartscreen filter. Bitdefender seems to be blocking this service in windows 8 pro.

I have uninstalled bitdefender and this feature works without issue, but as soon as the firewall is running I get a message saying that the servers cant be reached right now.

Is there a learning mode I can switch to that will prompt the user for all traffic?

I am quite new to bitdefender and cant seem to find an option to check for all traffic.

Thanks

John

Comments

• I've got this problem too. When I tried to install an app, there was a notice that Smartscreen's server couldn't be reach at that time. Another issue is after install Windows 8 security, the People App of windows 8 pro can't get the information for who's online, it just show "Your contacts are offline". I remember that last time when I installed my computer without Bitdefender, every thing worked normal. I didn't get the notice of Smartscreen and the issue of People app too. Then I install bitdefender windows 8 security, all problems appeared immediately. I have reinstalled my computer for 3 to 4 times so I can make sure that this is the problem of bitdefender windows 8 security. I hope you can solve these problems soon.

• I have same problem here bitdefender block windows smartscreen . Windows 8 pro.

• Georgia
    Georgia ✭✭✭

Hello,

Please apply the settings below and let me know if Windows smartscreen filter is working afterwards:

- bring up the Bitdefender interface

- click on Settings > Firewall > Settings tab

- click on General rules > Windows Explorer traffic on HTTP > use the drop-down menu to select 'Allow'

Looking forward to hearing from all of you!

• I had the same issue as others and changing to allow Windows Explorer traffic on HTTP did NOT work. It DOES work if I disable the Firewall.

Hello,