Too Many False Positives

I hate Bitdefender. I really am at that point where this piece of... software is just not worth it because of the amount of false positives (ATC4) that I'm getting and have gotten in the past. Hate is a very strong word, but with my level of frustration with Bitdefender right now and the amount of HOURS and at times multiple days I have spent troubleshooting this bloody program I am not sure hate is a strong enough word for what I think of Bitdefender. I have Bitdefender Total Security 2018, and it's been the most frustrating anti-virus/security suite I have ever used in my 30 years of computer experience (and I thought the bloatware of McAfee and Norton were bad. Nope Bitdefender is WORSE).

Today, Bitdefender decided to flag Firefox as an ATC4 virus. Seriously. Then, Bitdefender borked all of my extensions for Firefox. Not new ones. Existing ones. Why? Bitdefender also decided Rainmeter, a program I have been using for the past year (since prior to installing Bitdefender and after having done bi-monthly full scans for the past 6 or more months since I first bought and installed Bitdefender) is now infected with ATC4 virus. No changes have been made.

I have gone and fought with Bitdefender in trying to exclude the folders and program files of both Firefox and Rainmeter in the Anti-Virus and Application Access sections of this piece of... software. I think I was able to get back my settings for my Firefox extensions, but Rainmeter is still borked. So far, I've gotten one section of Rainmeter working but the other parts still have some sort of access restriction that I cannot figure out.

I'm at the point where uninstalling this piece of... software called Bitdefender might be my only option. What else can I do to exclude a program as being flagged as a false positive?

BD False.png

Comments