Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

New To Bitdefender

Options

Hello,

I'm brand new to Bitdefender.....I just installed Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2013 last night, so I'm sure I'll have several questions over the next few days/weeks, etc.

The first question I have.....is how do you schedule a scan?

I don't see an option through the interface, and I'd like to schedule a weekly scan at a specific time.

The second question.....is how do you set/schedule how often/frequently you'd like for Bitdefender to check for definition updates? Is that even possible, or does it just update on it's own without any user consent as to how often?

Thanks

Comments

• Georgia
    Georgia ✭✭✭
    Options

Hello and welcome to the Bitdefender forums!

'Schedule scan' is no longer available in the new Bitdefender products. Our software takes scheduled scanning to a whole new level, as the scanning only takes place when your system is idle. This does not affect the On-access scanning protection. Scan Dispatcher triggers system scans when resource usage falls below a certain threshold to avoid any impact on your system's performance.

This new feature is also visible in the main interface - Autoscan. You can turn it ON or OFF from the main Bitdefender window > Antivirus panel. With Auto Scan turned on, there is hardly any need to manually run scans for malware. Autoscan will scan your computer over and over again, taking appropriate actions when malware is detected. Autoscan runs only when enough system resources are available so as not to slow down the computer.