Memory leak when streaming media DLNA/SMB after update Bitdefender

Hello,

Ive been using BD since many more than 10 years. Always reliable. But since the last update (12-7-2024) i have issues.

I use my computer for streaming media through my network (from the computer to my mediaplayer, Oppo UDP 203). Media consist of .MKV / MP4 files on my hard drive, they are shared through both windows media sharing functions and via DLNA server (OShare, VLC, Window Media Player). My PC is therefore the media server for clients in my home network.

This has always worked (many years), but stopped working after the recent update of BD on 12-7-2024.

The symptoms are that files shared through my network play for a few minutes, and than stop playing. At that point all networking on my PC (the server) looses all network functionality; Internet/streaming/whatever no connection.

Ive watched what happens during streaming of a file. When streaming of a file starts, main / PC memory usage increases with an amount proportionally to the amount of bytes streamed (so 1 GB streamed = 1 GB increased memory usage). The memory doesnt get freed up. The freezing of streaming files (as describes) stops after several minutes, simply because the PC runs out of memory. In my case when all the 32GB of main memory is full.

This happens with all protocols i use (SMB, DLNA, windows media sharing). It happens when streaming to my dedicated media device (OPPO UDB 203) both on wired as wireless connection. It also happens when streaming to laptop or phone, with several players (VLC, WMP). The symptoms are always the same, after several minutes memory runs full streaming & networking gets pulled down as described.

I did notice the problems started after the recent update of bitdefender.So for testing purposes i uninstalled bitdefender. And that solved all problems.

Reinstalling bitdefender brings back the problems.