Can't Work Using My Vpn Connection.

I've been using BitDefender since 3 years ago and never had this problem. Recently I purchased BD Total Security 2010 and now my RealVNC connection to my office does not work.

My configuration of the programs involved is as follows:

Windows 7 Professional

Cisco VPN Client 5.0.05.0290

BitDefender Total Security 2010

RealVNC Enterprise 4.5.1

- I connect from my home (192.168.1.101) to my office using Cisco VPN Client 5.0.05.0290 and that works fine. When the Cisco VPN Client connects, I get assigned a fixed IP: 192.168.25.118. There is a rule in the office firewall that only permits my connection using ports 5900 and 5800 (the ones used by RealVNC) to my desktop (10.12.0.103).

- The new network (192.168.25.0) is detected by Bitdefender and I set both networks (my internet home connection and the new office network) as FULL TRUST.

- Whenever I click the existing VNC connection the program says:

"Attempting to connect to host..."

After 20-30 seconds or so, it says:

"failed to connect: Connection timeout (10060)"

- I tried adding rules, resetting rules and adding them again, with no luck.

- So far the only way I can make everything work fine is completely disabling the bitdefender firewall.

CONCLUSION:

There is something wrong with the bitdefender firewall, that even having all programs involved as ALLOW on any port, the VNC connection still gets blocked.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

- I completely disable the bitdefender firewall and connected to my office.

- Run RealVNC and connect to my desktop fine and start working without any problem.

- Reenabled the bitdefender firewall while still connected to the office and my desktop.

- After 2-3 seconds the connected session freezes completely.

And remember that I didn't have any problem at all with BitDefender Total Security 2008 or 2009.

If you need any additional information, please let me know.

Waiting for an answer,

Comments

• Hello rpareja,