Back Up Of Files For Ransomware Remediation. Any Explanation?

I am new to Bitdefender. When I turn on the Ransomware Remediation, does this mean that Bitdefender will back up all of my data files (My Documents, Photos, etc)? If yes, where will these files be stored? If yes, does that mean it is not necessary to keep my Carbonite subscription?

Best Answer

• Alexandru_BD
    Alexandru_BD admin
    Answer ✓

Hello,

@garioch7 thank you for the heads up! 😊

@RancherRick Ransomware remediation is not a replacement for a proper backup solution. The way ransomware remediation works is by monitoring which applications access/modify your files, and backing up those files, until a verdict is given for the application. If the application is deemed safe, the backup is deleted. If the application is deemed unsafe, their actions are blocked, and the files are restored to the original. The backups are only kept locally.

I hope this helps.

Best regards.

Premium Security & Bitdefender Endpoint Security Tools user

Answers

• garioch7
    garioch7 Defender of the month ✭✭✭✭✭

@RancherRick

"Mr. Google" is your friend. Click on <this link> to read an explanation of how Ransomware Remediation works.

Frequent full backups (system images) are absolutely essential to safe computing. Ransomware is not the only threat to be concerned about. Hardware failures are frequently the cause of data loss and Bitdefender cannot protect you from that or from accidentally deleted or corrupted files.

I hope this helps. Have a great day.

Regards,

-Phil

Former Bleeping Computer Malware Response Instructor

• Hi Phil:

Thank you for your information. I will plan to keep Carbontie.

Just to clarify, do you know if Bitdefender makes a copy of all my data files if I turn on Ransomware Remediation? If so, where are these copies kept.

• garioch7
    garioch7 Defender of the month ✭✭✭✭✭

@RancherRick @Alexandru_BD