Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Work Profile Prevents Scheduled Scan From Running

Options

Bitdefender Total Security on Windows 10 Pro

I'm new to BDTS so this may actually be a feature not a bug. Plus I know nothing about how Profiles work or how they affect my system.

The problem was, I could not get any scheduled scan to run on my desktop, but they ran on my Surface Pro 4.

I remember during installation, BD recommended that I turn on Automatic Profiles. When I accepted, it said it enabled Work profile and something about Outlook, which I have running always.

Since my Surface Pro which does not have Outlook always running, I thought that might be a good place to start my investigation.

On my desktop, I closed Outlook and the scans ran. I disabled Automatic Profiles and all individual profiles and opened Outlook. The scans ran fine. I re-enabled Work Profile and opened Outlook. The Scheduled scans would not run. The pattern was the same for Excel open/closed, Work Profile enabled/disabled.

So my conclusion is, if Work Profile is enabled then Scheduled Scans will not run if any MS Office 365 app is running.

Comments

• Alexandru_BD
    Options

Hello @franks59 and welcome to the Community!

This is indeed, the expected behavior, whenever the Work Profile is enabled.

The Work Profile has been designed to help you improve your work efficiency, by turning off some of your background services and maintenance tasks.

According to your activity, the following product settings are applied when the Work Profile activated:

• All Bitdefender alerts and pop-ups are disabled.

• Automatic Update is postponed

• Scheduled scans are postponed.

• Search Advisor is disabled

• Special offers notifications are disabled.