BDIS 2018 - Eating up CPU

Yesterday Bitdefender was updated to 2018 version and since then there's been a 100% CPU usage spikes by process "System" every ~5 minutes. Using Process Explorer, it's been narrowed down to some avc3.sys processes which are Bitdefender drivers. I tried to reinstall it several times using Bitdefender Uninstall Tool but the problem continues to exist. Right now i am on Avast Free Antivirus and everything seems to be ok. I've been using Bitdefender for two years already and never expirienced such a problem. So what should i do? I really like Bitdefender and want to continue using it.

My OS is Windows 10 creators update with the latest build from August 9.

Tagged:

Comments

• Windows 10 Enterprise, fully updated.

In the last 2 weeks or so, BDIS 2018 has been devouring CPU - specifically Ignis.sys. As high as 30-40% utilization. Appears to happen randomly, solved (temporarily) by a reboot. A complete clean uninstall and reinstall did nothing to help it.

What's going on?

• 19 minutes ago, Mgnorae said:

specifically Ignis.sys

This is the driver of the firewall was the problem.

• Same issue on my site

On my system this happend every 5-10 minutes. In games its terrible cause FPS are droping down to 10 :(

• 2 hours ago, Rampant said:

This is the driver of the firewall was the problem.

11 minutes ago, fresh229 said:

On my system this happend every 5-10 minutes. In games its terrible cause FPS are droping down to 10 :(

Is there any workaround or fix? I've seen this issue reported in BDIS 2017, but I don't see any discussion of it for BDIS 2018. Furthermore, the BDIS 2017 workarounds don't seem to help.

Fresh229 - when did this start happening for you?

• on my pc after update from 2017 to 2018 every 5-10 min Active Threat Control (atc.sys) is using 100% of cpu.

• Sorin G.
    Sorin G.
    edited September 2017

Hello,

Please let me know when exactly are you encountering these spikes.