Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Bitdefender 2010 & Realvnc 4.5.1

Options

I've been using BD since 3 years ago and never had this problem. Upgraded to BD Total Security 2010 and now RealVNC does not work.

I connect to my office using Cisco VPN Client 5.0.05.0290 and that works fine, because the Network & Communications guy detect my connection. But when I try to run the RealVNC it just goes on and on until it says TIMEOUT.

As soon as I disabled the BD Firewall completely, it connects immediately.

I tried adding rules, resetting rules and adding them again, with no luck.

This never happened with BD 2009 or BD 2008.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Comments

• Hello rpareja,

We've recently tested Realvnc 4.5.1 in the following configuration:

- connect to office using Microsoft VPN Client

- the VPN adapter was set to SAFE Trust Level and Stealth REMOTE (check this in Firewall - Network tab)

- started VNC Viewer, entered IP of the computer from the office network

- Connect, entered user and password and went through

Besides using the Cisco VPN Client, are there any differences in your setup?

• As for differences in my setup... it would only be the connection itself. Instead of the Microsoft VPN Client we "have" to use (for security purposes already in place) the Cisco VPN Client.

And the trust level was at FULL TRUST. No luck.

Set it now at SAFE. No luck.

Whenever I click the existing VNC connection (or if I try creating a new one) the client says:

"Attempting to connect to host..."

After 30 seconds or so, it says:

"failed to connect: Connection timeout (10060)"

So far the only way I can make everything work fine is completely disabling the BD firewall.

And just for general information: