Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Deleting "hidden" Rootkit Files

Options

Using GMRE, HiJack This or any other program that detects 'hidden' Rootkit files and registry entries that don't show up in Windows even though you have "Show hidden files and folders" checked and "Hide protected operating systems files" unchecked, how can you deleted these 'rouge' files that these programs detect without booting into DOS and using command lines (that I'm not good at)?

Also, just how can a file be hidden from Windows in the first place?

Comments

• alexcrist
    alexcrist
    edited March 2009
    Options

A rootkit usually works by installing a system driver in your operating system that hooks up some system APIs (usually the file and process APIs). Then it monitors the calls to those APIs and, whenever a process tries to access a file that should be hidden, the rootkit just redirects the reqest, blocking any access to the "protected" files.

In simple words: files are stored on your HDD, and the references to the files are stored in an arborescent structure (called a file system, eg. NTFS, for Windows XP and newer).

For an application to view the filelist, it must traverse the file system. Like Explorer, before it displays the files and folders so you can see, it must first check the file system, take the references that it needs (for instance, the files in the current folder), and show them in a nice list. :)

This is done by calling a few Windows APIs (functions) which are responsible for traversing the file system. So Explorer takes the path of the current folder (the one you want to view) and sends it to an API. That API returns the list of requested files.