Getting A Little Fed Up With Slow Video Streaming

TomTime
TomTime ✭✭
edited December 2013 in Firewall

Hi all

I have searched for this problem on the forum and have seen references to it but as yet have not found a succinct solution - in fact the discussions seem to fade into theories and no actual simple solution is offered.

I have been using BitDefender Internet Security 2013 for about 9 months now. I generally like it but one thing is increasingly annoying me, to the point where, if I cannot change a setting or something, I feel that I might have to stop using BitDefender (which would be a last resort and I really don't want to have to do that).

The problem is that sometimes if I am playing a video on a website it can start to stop/start as if I have a poor internet connection speed. The speed of my internet broadband is not the problem. I have noticed that when this problem develops I can see that the Firewall Activity on the BitDefender widget sits with the blue activity indicator at the half-way position. It will often remain at this level even when I have left the webpage & video that seemed to be causing BitDefender a problem. It gets to the stage where I cannot successfully play the videos. It's very frustrating and is, if anything, getting worse.

It can happen on any website that has video content - I have seen it on Vimeo for example. I am sure that it's BitDefender causing the slow streaming.

I have not made many changes to the basic settings for BitDefender Internet Security 2013 and I must confess that I look at the various settings for the Firewall etc but don't really understand what a lot of them mean (or the effect that incorrect settings might have - I don't want to make myself any more vulnerable than necessary).

I can see that other people have this problem - surely there must be a setting that would solve the issue? I should mention that this problem occurs in both Windows 7 and Windows XP.