Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Total Security Thinks The Program I Am Developing Is Malicious

Options
tackyjan
edited January 2014 in General

Hello All,

I have Bit Defender Total Security 2013 running on my computer.

I am a a software developer and I am writing a C# application that runs in the system tray. I have recently added code in my application that checks to see if it's already running at startup and, if it is, it does not start another instance (only can run once). The code I have added to check if my app is already running is fairly straight forward:

Mutex appMutex = new Mutex(false, "WinMenu Menu");

if (!appMutex.WaitOne(0, false))

{

return;

}

When I build and run my application .exe file (WinMenu.Menu.exe) the first time everything works fine. The program starts and I can see the system tray icon. If I double-click (run) my application again, to test whether I am preventing more than one instance from running, Bit Defender thinks that my program is malicious.

The first thing that happens is I get a system tray notification box stating that a malicious application has been detected:

malicious_app_detected_zpsd332520e.png

I click on the "More details" link and here is what I see:

malicious_app_details_zps63919fdc.png

As you can see.. Bit Defender thinks it might have found a potentially malicious application.

So far this is not really a big deal, however, something much worse happens as a result of this. It affects my ability to build my C# program with Visual Studio. Here is why:

When you build a C# application in Visual Studio it creates a sub folder called bin and then under this folder it creates a release folder where it stores the compiled .exe. (This is where I am running my program from.)