Ridiculous On-Going False Positive Issue That Bd Never Fixes!

TimH
edited July 2016 in Protection

I am a programmer and like having a good anti-virus tool on my computer. I don't want to have to exclude scans on my development folders as it leaves them vulnerable to attacks; however, Bitdefender has had the issue of any exe file being created from compiling in an IDE (I use Visual Studio) being flagged as a virus for years now (I have seen multiple threads on this over the years as well as personally experiencing it for years).

The worst issue with this is that I recently reformatted my PC and forgot about excluding scans and changing the ridiculous default option of 'Take proper actions' (which automatically deletes files) for my most recent development build - of course, this resulted in my file being deleted when I compiled it. After wasting an hour trying to find out why no exe was being created when I compile, I realised Bitdefender was responsible. I went to Bitdefender's 'Events' screen and decided to tell it to 'Delete' the file (I did this instead of recovering the file as I wanted to confirm that it was in fact Bitdefender holding it in limbo that was preventing re-creation); however, the file still wouldn't create on re-compile after doing this. I then turned off the anti-virus but it still can't be re-created (potentially a blacklist that Bitdefender acts on even with AV off?); now it appears to be completely impossible for me to create my executable with the name I want without removing Bitdefender from my system due to the ridiculous limited settings Bitdefender allows for users.

I've spent the last few hours playing around with settings to see how flexible the new 2016 version is (as settings on past versions have typically been very limited); to my disgust, I found the range of settings have grown even more limited now, to the point I almost have no control.