Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Full Scan Has Been Running For 10 Hours

Options

Hello,

I am new to Bitdefender and thought that it was odd that the Full Scan was taking a long time, so I decided to do some reading to see if a 10 (and counting) hour scan time was typical, or some isolated problem. I've been looking through your threads and have not found something that has taken quite this long. I noticed that nikki605 had an issue with timing that seems to have been fixed (and his scan completed in just over 1 hour), so this looks like a completely separate issue.

I typically run 'AVG free' along with 'Spybot S&D' and that has served my relatively well until recently. If I ever ran into a problem that I couldn't fix, I would back up my files and do a complete re-installation of windows (have not needed to do this for several years now). Unfortunately, this is no longer the 'easy' way out. I would like to keep my system set up if I can. That's why I chose to try Bitdefender.

The first time I ran the full scan, the computer crashed after 2 1/2 hours.

This time, it's at 10 hours and it says that there is 2 hours, 50 minutes to go. The part that concerns me is that I have scanned 3.25 million items at about 100 files/second. Sometimes it slows down to 1 file/second (it stayed there for about an hour) and on rare occasions it will jump up to 3000 files/second. I don't know what typical numbers are.

It's currently reporting 17 infected items. (I suppose the presence of a virus could be one cause of the slow down? Could I get a confirmation on this)

Computer Specs:

WinXP SP3

Pentium D 3Ghz

3.25 GB RAM