Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Sometimes Bitdefender is too clever for it's own good

Options

Hi

I'm fairly new to BitDefender Antivirus Plus 2017. I noticed the section on Ransomware & noticed that a default list of protected locations is set up by default. I realised that I'd better set up some trusted applications. So I added a few apps I commonly used & left it at that.

During the following day I spent a couple of hours editing some images (with a trusted app), edited some documents, a spreadsheet & various other stuff that's part of my daily work.

Today I notice that the image I'd worked so hard on yesterday has not been changed - I'd lost a couple of hours work. I checked a few other files I'd worked on and again all my changes were gone.

After uttering numerous profanities I calmed down with the intention of setting up all the apps I usually use as trusted apps & then remembered that it hadn't worked before. This set me thinking - what is the point of having a list of protected locations anyway. After all, I'm using BitDefender - if it's any good then it shouldn't let an outside source gain access to my PC to change or lock files - I certainly wouldn't allow it myself having had numerous scam calls from criminals urging me to let them have access via Log-Me-In et al.

So I've now removed all BitDefender's default protected locations since I can't be arsed to set up up a dozen or more trusted apps that may or may not work properly.

Sometimes an antivirus app is just too clever for its or anyone else's good.

Comments

• garioch7
    garioch7 Defender of the month ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options