I am at wits end with an extremely problematic product!

I'm not sure where even to start. I've been running BitDefender Total Security for 18 months now and it's been an absolute nightmare that makes the shovelware by McAfee and Symantec (now Broadcom) look like world class products by comparison. I get that this is the commercial / home market and it's all about the least common denominator so when I do my comparisons to enterprise platforms like Crowdstrike, Sentinel One, Cyberreason, and Cynet, it's going to be apples to oranges. That being said, as a nearly 30 year veteran of cyber and networking, BitDefender is a trash product.

1) You all hate home developers. This was my first case and you all botched it big time. Your product identified my (then 11 years old) son's Small Basic, javascript, and Python projects as malware. We're talking projects that would create a new window making basic system calls, changing their color (of the window), and or entering text into a text box. You quarantined those projects and when I tried to restore them from quarantine, they were all corrupted. When I put in the USB stick to restore the files, you wiped the files from the USB stick. When I connected his machine to my machine (drive mapping) for our other backup, you then nuked the files from my shared drive. There was no winning.

Your solution was to whitelist but neither javascript nor python run as native executables. Small basic, sure, I could whitelist the compiler but I'm not going to sit there and whitelist every project my son made. That's ridiculous. That literally was your "workaround".