Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Very slow internet using VPN

Options
Coffee999
Coffee999
edited February 2022 in VPN

I have been testing the BD VPN, and I want to like it.....BUT,

I have gig speed. On one wired desktop computer with speeds normally at 950mbps, VPN takes it down to 50-100. My second WIFI desktop normally hits 250mbps, VPN takes it down to single digits. This can not be right? Anyone? Thank you.

Comments

• LJZ3
    Options

sounds pretty reasonable to me. from what i understand of how vpn works and traffic loads around web. i'm not an expert, though. i notice zero difference on vpn with 12mb/s cable modem connection.

• Glen
    Options

I have the same experience. Just installed VPN premium and my wifi download speed dropped from 250 mbps to 20 mbps. If I turn off VPN, the speeds go back up. What is up?

• Coffee999
    Coffee999
    edited April 2020
    Options

Right Glen I agree. There is no doubt that VPN slows things down. I have read you might lose 30-40%. Even that is a little hard to stomach. But what I see most of the time is 70-80% decrease or more, on the fastest server I can find in the list. And on my second desktop where 250 Mbps is normal, single digits is hard to take and really makes the operation sluggish. So even through the constant efforts to always make your computer as fast as possible but you want that protection, you have to wonder if it's worth causing yourself the slow speeds and be better protected, or take the chance and have the fastest speed you can muster and play the odds that no ones will cause you trouble. Unless there are other factors to losing this much speed that I'm not aware of which is the reason for my question. Does BD ever chime in these discussions?