BUG: "Don't scan content in backups" setting fails with multiple Time Machine destinations


Steps to reproduce:


* Configure macOS with more than one network-connected Time Machine destination, eg., two different NAS devices


* From the Time Machine menu, "Enter time machine" and wait for all targets to mount, then restore any file and exit Time Machine


* Open a shell and type the following to see a list of mounted Time Machine backups: mount|grep "Time Machine Backups"


Example results:


$ mount |grep "Time Machine Backups" |sort
/dev/disk5s2 on /Volumes/Time Machine Backups (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, nobrowse)
/dev/disk6s2 on /Volumes/Time Machine Backups 1 (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, nobrowse)
/dev/disk7s2 on /Volumes/Time Machine Backups 2 (hfs, local, nodev, nosuid, journaled, nobrowse)


* Open BitDefender and ensure the "Don't scan content in backups" setting is enabled


* In BitDefender, start a system scan


Observed:


* BitDefender tries to scan the contents of "/Volumes/Time Machine Backups 1" and "/Volumes/Time Machine Backups 2"


Expected:


* BitDefender should respect the "Don't scan content in backups" setting


Notes:


* The key problem appears to be that BitDefender only omits mounted disk images named "Time Machine Backups." But Time Machine may mount multiple volumes with numbered suffixes when multiple network destinations exist.

Tagged:

Comments


  • Hello,


     


    Thank you for reporting this situation. We are aware of this situation and we are currently working on a fix. The fix will be implement via automatic updates on the product.

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.