Mac is unprotected after reboot

When I reboot our Mac, Bitdefender sometimes shows "No user registered" and "Your Mac is not protected".  I have to log in to Bitdefender Central, and then provide an administrator's name and password so that Bitdefender can make changes to my system. Has anyone else run into this problem? 

Going through this login procedure at every reboot would be just a nuisance, if not for another problem: Unless you open the application, Bitdefender gives very little indication that the system is unprotected. The only warning is an almost invisible "x" in the Bitdefender logo on the menu bar, in place of a check mark. I have a family subscription, and I know that other family members will not notice that their devices are unprotected.

I would like Bitdefender to maintain uninterrupted protection across reboots. (Presumably, it should be keeping login credentials in the keychain.) Sometimes this works as expected, but sometimes it doesn't, and I can't see any pattern to the failures. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 7.57.08 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 7.58.20 PM copy.png

Tagged:

Comments

• Greetings!

Looks like your BD product ran into some unexpected error, so please follow the below steps to fix this issue:

1. Use the Uninstall tool to remove your current BD product completely from you computer, here is the download link: https://www.bitdefender.com/site/view/uninstall_consumer_trial.html

2. Then go to your Bitdefender Central and login in there and download from there freshly.

See if the problem persists and report here again.

regards

• Thanks, Hassan. I tried your suggestion, using the uninstallation instructions for Mac Antivirus here:

https://www.bitdefender.com/support/-1687.html

I rebooted once, and the Mac was still protected. So far, so good! But since the problem has been intermittent, I rebooted a second time just to be sure.  Things went downhill from there: