Way to make BitDefender stop re-installing VPN every update?

Hi There,

BitDefender Total Security is doing something absolutely infuriating that has been driving me nuts for the past month or so.

I have a subscription for Total Security that I use to protect my laptop as well as my wife's, father's, and mother-n-law's. Each of us is experiencing the same issue issue where BitDefender reinstalls the VPN product EVERY SINGLE TIME that it updates. None of us use the VPN, none of us plan to, and we all keep uninstalling it every time to no avail.

Support was pretty useless, telling me to uninstall and reinstall BitDefender, which did absolutely nothing.

Has anyone discovered a way to make the uninstallation stick? A refusal to respect a user's decision not to use one of their add-on product would be very customer-hostile, so I'm hoping that there's a setting in Total Security that I'm just missing that will make this stop happening.

Any help that you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-Sean

Comments

  • Alex_AAlex_A ✭✭✭

    Most likely you will have to put up with the fact that Bitdefender VPN is present on your device so that you do not have to constantly delete it. The only suggestion is to disable the automatic start of the Bitdefender VPN service at system startup

  • Sadly there seems to be a lot of stupid things about Total Security. It autodownloads Safepay as well. The most annoying thing for me is the notifications about features I will never use. Kinda ironic that one of those "features" is Antispam.

  • Me too. If left running, the VPN pops up unhelpfully any time there is an interruption in the network. It seems to have no useful settings to limit its application.😡

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.