Kindly be advised we cannot cancel subscriptions or issue refunds on the forum.
You may cancel your Bitdefender subscription from Bitdefender Central or by contacting Customer Support at: https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Thank you for your understanding.

Hosts File access

Hi,

I'm using Windows 10. I've just started using Bitdefender after using Kaspersky for many years. In the light of the current circumstances I decided to uninstall Kaspersy for obvious reasons.

I am a developer and I need to be able to switch my hosts file at the click of a button. I had written a program to do this and it has been working fine with Kaspersky for years, although I had to explicitly give it rights to change out the hosts file. However, now it seems I am unable to programatically make changes to the hosts file with Bitdefender running.

I am using Bitdefender Total Security. When I've searched for answers to this I've seen instructions to stop scanning of the hosts file by going to: General Settings > Advanced tab > "Scan hosts file" button.

This button is not available in my version of Bitdefender.

I have tried adding the path to the hosts file folder (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc) and the path to the hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts) to exceptions but the program still fails to access the hosts file. I also added my program that manipulates the hosts file to the exceptions.

How can I grant access and allow the software I have written to manipulate the hosts file on my machine?

I can't believe that it is not possibe. It was straight forward with Kaspersky!

I'd be grateful for any suggestions.

Thanks.

Comments

• Hello, I am also experiencing issues as such. I am very interested in an answer from support.

• Hello,

The button has been moved under Protection -> Vulnerabilty:

Make sure you have the latest update installed, as it was not displayed here on the previous version.