My C++ file is being flagged as malicious by Bitdefender.

I am now studying C++ by making some simple programs that perform rudimentary calculations or other math-related tasks. I've been using Code:Blocks for this purpose, but whenever I generate a program, Bitdefender incorrectly flags it as malicious and deletes it. I tried adding it to a whitelist, but I write a lot of apps, and it would take too much time. Help! My virus protection software, Bitdefender, has wrongly flagged a safe file as malicious when it has never done so before. "(The virus is described as

Comments

• Hello @UnitedWebSoft.in,

It's difficult to know for sure what is causing this antivirus behaviour based solely on the above information.

But my personal guess is that Advanced Threat Defense flags the programs as malicious, if it detects behavioural changes similar to the ones found in malware. It's a Bitdefender feature that continuously monitors running processes to identify anomalies in apps behavior and correlates different suspicious behaviors to significantly improve detection. Thus we could say it's a false positive. Try to add the programs as .exe exceptions and this should stop Advanced Threat Defense from interfering with their legitimate process. You can follow the steps from here (if not already done) and if this doesn't solve the issue, please contact our Support Teams for a more in-depth investigation of the machine:

Use this link and choose the desired contact channel to get in touch with our engineers, if needed:

https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/help/

Regards

Premium Security & Bitdefender Endpoint Security Tools user

• Flexx
    Flexx DEFENDER OF THE YEAR 2023 / DEFENDER OF THE MONTH ✭✭✭✭✭ mod
    edited November 2022

First we need to know if it is a signature based detection or is it the behaviour blocker/ advanced threat defense that is blocking the execution of file.

Perform below steps: